Ralph Vaughan Williams (18721958)

Symphony No. 8 in d minor

pour: Orchestre symphonique

Partition musicale de poche

№ d’article663869
Auteur/CompositeurRalph Vaughan Williams
ÉditeurDavid Lloyd-Jones
Portée120 pages; 18,9 × 24,6 cm
Date de parution2016
Éditions/ProducteurOxford University Press
№ de fabricantOUP 9780193413306
29,15 €
Délai de livraison : env. 1–2 semaines
au bloc-notes


Vaughan Williams wrote his Symphony No. 8 between 1953 and 1955, when he was in his eighties. It is his shortest symphony, and is considered by many to be his least serious. Aside from a few sombre moments, the symphony is optimistic in mood and displays Vaughan Williams's love for exotic and colourful combinations of instruments, with a percussion sections that, he said, employs 'all the 'phones and 'spiels known to the composer'. For this newly engraved edition, editor David Lloyd-Jones has consulted all extant sources and materials to create a score matching the composer's intentions.

The full score is completed with Textual Notes and Preface, and accompanying orchestral parts are available on hire.

Orchestration: 2 fl, 2 ob, 2 cl, 2 bn(opt 3rd), 2 hn, 2 tpt, 3 tbn, timp, 4 perc [opt 5th], 2 hp, cel, str