Colin Lawson (°1949)

Mozart – Clarinet Concerto

Score échantillon

Cambridge Music Handbooks

pour: Clarinette

Livre (relié)

№ d’article228664
Auteur/CompositeurColin Lawson
Portée124 pages; 14,6 × 22,3 cm
Date de parution1996
Éditions/ProducteurCambridge University Press
№ de fabricant9780521473842
68,20 €
Délai de livraison : 3–4 jours ouvrables (France )
au bloc-notes


Mozart's Clarinet Concerto is of supreme importance as his last instrumental work. Yet there are a number of special problems surrounding the piece, since the autograph is lost and the unique instrument for which it was written has not survived. This book provides evidence of the development of the clarinet, Mozart's encounter with it, and the composition and subsequent reception of the Clarinet Concerto.

An analysis of the work is complemented by discussion of performance practice and of surviving relevant instruments. Expertise from the author's colleagues contributes to some valuable appendices.

  • The first in-depth study of one of Mozart's most popular, and supremely important, works
  • The author, Colin Lawson, is a performer and has recorded this work on a period instrument for Nimbus records
  • Includes an important discussion of performance practice and historical instruments


  • Frontmatter
  • Contents
  • List of illustrations
  • Preface
  • 1 - The eighteenth-century clarinet and its music
  • 2 - Mozart, Stadler and the clarinet
  • 3 - The genesis and reception of the Concerto
  • 4 - Stadler's clarinet and its revival
  • 5 - Mozart's original text
  • 6 - Design and structure
  • 7 - Performance practice
  • Appendix 1 - A review of the Breitkopf and Härtel edition in the Leipzig Allgemeine Musikalische Zeitung, 4 (March 1802)
  • Appendix 2 - Surviving instruments
  • Appendix 3 - A list of works composed by Mozart's clarinettist, Anton Stadler
  • Notes
  • Select bibliography
  • Index